Rosenqvist captures Indy pole as disaster strikes points leader Ericsson


Posted on

| Written by

IndyCar’s two Swedish drivers experienced contrasting fortunes in qualifying for tomorrow’s Brickyard Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Felix Rosenqvist won his second pole position of the season. But championship leader Marcus Ericsson came to a stop during his out-lap in the first round of qualifying, and will start last for tomorrow’s second race on the Indianpolis grand prix circuit.

Rosenqvist had just one chance to put his number McLaren SP Dallara/Chevrolet on pole during the Fast Six session, but he put together a stellar lap on a used set of alternate compound tyres to take pole position with a time of 1’10.227. It’s another strong result for Rosenqvist, whose future in IndyCar beyond 2022 is far from certain.

He won the pole by nearly three tenths of a second over potential incoming team mate, Alexander Rossi, who will start on the outside of the front row. Rossi denied his future team a front row lock-out.

Championship contenders Pato O’Ward and Will Power will start on the second row of the grid in third and fourth, respectively. Power enters the weekend just eight points behind Ericsson in the championship standings, while O’Ward is 36 points behind.

Josef Newgarden was cleared to take part in this weekend’s race after passing a medical examination following Friday morning practice. He will start fifth alongside Christian Lundgaard, who made his IndyCar debut at this race one year ago.

Álex Palou, who is at the epicentre of the most extraordinary off-track drama in IndyCar today in which he is the subject of legal action from his own team, was also the only Ganassi driver to advance to the second round of qualifying. The reigning champion will start seventh ahead of Rinus VeeKay (who won on this course last year) and Colton Herta (who did likewise earlier this year). Conor Daly completes the top 10.

The big story of the first round of qualifying was Ericsson’s misfortunes. While on an out-lap, the Indianapolis 500 winner was instructed to shut his off car as a precaution when his Ganassi engineers spotted a potential critical failure. This brought out a red flag during group two in first round qualifying. Even if Ericsson had been able to resume running, he would not have been able to advance to round two because he caused a red flag.

As a consequence, the championship leader will start 25th and last tomorrow, barring any other potential grid penalties between now and the start of Saturday’s 85-lap race. Also starting well down the order is his team mate Scott Dixon, who could only manage 20th in qualifying, and Romain Grosjean, who starts 21st at the track where he scored his first IndyCar pole position and podium finish one year ago.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Brickyard Grand Prix qualifying results

Position Car Driver Team Engine
1 7 Felix Rosenqvist McLaren SP Chevrolet
2 27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda
3 5 Pato O’Ward McLaren SP Chevrolet
4 12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet
5 2 Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet
6 30 Christian Lundgaard RLL Honda
7 10 Alex Palou Ganassi Honda
8 21 Rinus VeeKay Carpenter Chevrolet
9 26 Colton Herta Andretti Honda
10 20 Conor Daly Carpenter Chevrolet
11 18 David Malukas Coyne/HMD Honda
12 60 Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Honda
13 45 Jack Harvey RLL Honda
14 29 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Honda
15 3 Scott McLaughlin Penske Chevrolet
16 6 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Honda
17 15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda
18 51 Takuma Sato Coyne/RWR Honda
19 77 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Chevrolet
20 9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda
21 14 Kyle Kirkwood Foyt Chevrolet
22 28 Romain Grosjean Andretti Honda
23 48 Jimmie Johnson Ganassi Honda
24 4 Dalton Kellett Foyt Chevrolet
25 8 Marcus Ericsson Ganassi Honda

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Browse all IndyCar articles

Author information

RJ O'Connell
Motorsport has been a lifelong interest for RJ, both virtual and ‘in the carbon’, since childhood. RJ picked up motorsports writing as a hobby...

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

4 comments on “Rosenqvist captures Indy pole as disaster strikes points leader Ericsson”

  1. Whoa! What happened to the Ganassi cars? Bad setup? Problems of some sort?

  2. hope Will Power wins the title he has been the quickest driver indy by a long way. He as probably won more races than Dixon since being in indy. He as been well unlucky.

    1. It would be hilarious to see Charles Leclerc’s whipping boy win the title though. Latifi could become the new Paul Tracy if he leaves f1 lol.

  3. Marcus has had a great run, but he’s not going to win the title. Go Newgarden!

Comments are closed.